The Center for  Russian and Central Asian Studies at Fudan University

    The Center for Russian and Central Asian Studies(CRACAS) at Fudan University, whose predecessor was The Center for Russian and East European Studies, was founded in 2005. Major research interests of the CRACAS faculty encompass: Russian and Eurasian politics, diplomacy, security and society; China-Russian and China-Eurasian state-to-state relations; security, economy, people-to-people and cultural exchanges among Shanghai Cooperation Organization(SCO) member states; Silk Road Economic Belt; international energy security and diplomacy.

  At present, the full-time CRACAS faculty members consist of 2 professors,associate professor,1 assistant professor and 1 translator. In close collaboration with School of Economics and College of Foreign Language and Literature at Fudan University, a number of the adjunct researchers participate in the academic events organized by the Center on a regular base.

     In the year of 2017,  the CRACAS at Fudan University was designated by Ministry of Education of the Peoples Republic of China as the Institute for China-Russia People-to-People Exchange Studies and one of the Institutes of International and Regional Studies. The CRACAS at Fudan actively carries out decision-making and advisory service, building close ties with government departmentsin China.The CRCAS researchers are committed to undertaking numerous national policy projects, invited to attend related consultation and decision-making meetings. 

     The faculty members have published numerous specialized academic findings in Chinese, Russian as well as English and constantly attend the following internationally renowned events on Eurasian studies: Valdai Discussion Club, Astana Economic Forum and The East Asian Conference on Salvic-Eurasian Studies. Since 2015, the Center for Russian and Central Asian Studies at Fudan University has jointly launched the research project China-Russia Dialogue with Russian International Affairs Council and issued the annual research report accordingly, harvesting favorable resonance in academia and decision-making circles. In the meanwhile, the Academic Newsletter (an internal journal) comes out annually as scheduled.

As a platform-based research center affiliated to the Institute of International Studies at Fudan University, the CRACAS conducts routine work, organizes and hosts domestic and international academic symposiums, develops academic exchanges with the institutions, experts and scholars both at home and abroad. In addition to the renowned research institutes, the CRACAS has also initiated academic collaboration and partnership with Russian International Affairs Council, Moscow State Institute of International Relations, Institute of Far Eastern Studies of Russian Academy of Sciences, Russian Institute of Strategic Studies, Carnegie Moscow Center, The Kazakhstan Institute for Strategic Studies under the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, The Institute of World Economy and International Relations, Al-Farabi Kazakh National University, The University of World Economy and Diplomacy, Institute for Strategic and Regional Studies under the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan, The Kyrgyzstan National Strategic Research Center, The Kyrgyzstan National Strategic Research Institute, Center for Strategic and International Studies(CSIS), Brookings Institution, Columbia University, Georgetown University, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Center for Slavic Eurasian Studies of Hokkaido University, Centre for Eastern Studies in Poland and Jawaharlal Nehru University.

The CRACASat Fudan University offers courses on Russian politics and diplomacy to undergraduates and postgraduates, enrolling masters and doctoral program candidates in the area of international relations and international politics while cultivating talents specializing in Russian and Eurasian studies. The postgraduates accepted comprise native students as well as those from Russia, Kazakhstan, the United States and Ukraine. Furthermore, all necessary conveniences and facilities have been and will continue to be provided to visiting scholars and interns worldwide, amongst whom come from Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Russia, Turkey and the United States.

俄罗斯中亚研究中心成立于2005年,其前身为俄罗斯东欧研究中心。中心主要研究方向包括: 俄罗斯和欧亚国家的政治、外交、经济、安全、社会,中国与俄罗斯及欧亚国家关系,上海合作组织的安全、经济和人文合作,丝绸之路经济带,国际能源安全与外交等。

中心现有专职研究人员四名(其中教授两名、副教授和讲师各一名)、专职翻译一名。中心与本校经济学院、外语学院等兄弟单位紧密合作,多名本校兼职研究人员经常性参与中心活动。

2017年,中心被教育部确定为“中外人文交流研究基地—中俄人文交流研究中心”和教育部国别区域研究基地。中心积极开展决策咨询,与国家相关决策部门建立了密切联系,中心研究人员经常性承担政府部门研究课题、应邀参加相关决策咨询会议。

成员用中文、俄文和英文在国内、俄罗斯、欧亚国家、美国、日本等发表大量专业领域学术成果,经常性参与“瓦尔代论坛”、“阿斯塔纳论坛”、“东亚斯拉夫研究共同体”等国际知名欧亚问题交流平台的活动。中心自2015年与俄罗斯国际事务委员会共同发起“中俄对话”联合研究项目并出版年度研究报告,在两国学术界和决策层反响良好。中心每年还出版《学术简报》(内部刊物)。

中心以复旦大学国际问题研究院为平台,开展日常工作,组织举办国内国际学术会议,与国内外研究机构、专家、学者开展学术交流。除国内知名研究机构外,中心还与俄罗斯国际事务委员会、莫斯科国际关系学院、俄罗斯科学院远东研究所、俄罗斯战略研究所、莫斯科卡内基中心、哈萨克斯坦总统战略研究所、哈萨克斯坦首任总统基金会世界经济和国际关系研究所、哈萨克斯坦法拉比国立大学、乌兹别克斯坦世界经济和外交学院、乌兹别克斯坦战略和地区研究所、吉尔吉斯斯坦战略研究中心、塔吉克斯坦战略研究所、美国国际战略研究中心、布鲁金斯学会、哥伦比亚大学、乔治城大学、卡内基国际和平基金会、日本北海道大学斯拉夫—欧亚研究中心、波兰东方研究中心、印度尼赫鲁大学等有学术交流和合作关系。

中心成员开设俄罗斯政治与外交等本科与研究生课程,并招收国际关系、国际政治等专业的硕士、博士研究生,培养俄罗斯—欧亚研究的专门人才。招收的硕士研究生中除了中国学生,还有来自俄罗斯、哈萨克斯坦、美国、乌克兰的学生。中心也为国外访问学者和实习生的访学提供条件,已接收过来自哈萨克斯坦、乌兹别克斯坦、俄罗斯、土耳其和美国的访问学者和实习生。

English Version